Why I travel

All of us have our travel dreams and very likely many of these dreams remain unfulfilled due to various reasons. It is no different for me. Why I was very young and innocent, I would dream of travelling to all sort of places that I have seen from the  photos of my geography textbook. The snow capped mountains of New Zealand and the Sugar Loaf mountain of Rio De Janeiro are among the most vivid recollections then.

In my younger days, travelling was difficult. The trains were very slow, and there were hardly any long distance express bus. Air travel was for the rich only.  Few people travels to overseas for holidays, and those that travel overseas were mainly students that were studying overseas or couples celebrating once in a lifetime honeymoon. The situation has changed considerably in later years, and by the mid eighties air travel has become more common. However, it is the advent of budget airlines that make air travel more accessible for everyone.

Travelling can be very expensive, particularly if one choses more exotic locations or high cost countries. China and the South East Asian region (other than Singapore) are my favourite travel ground, as I feel particularly connected to them and they provide the biggest bang for the buck. I experienced wonderful moments walking on the slope of snow capped mountain of Sichuan, islands hopping in speed boat off Borneo coast,  climbing the steps of ancient temple in Cambodia, fine dining in Shenzhen etc. And all these without having to feel the pinch.

As I gets older, the travelling bug within me actually become stronger as I keep on remembering what Mark Twain has to say on this matter:

“Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines, sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.” – Mark Twain

About kchew

an occasional culturalist
This entry was posted in Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

